Yanik Deschênes, ARP, LL.B.

Yanik DeschênesYanik has more than 20 years experience in communications, PR, marketing and issues management.

His professional background boasts significant achievements at prominent agencies (Sid Lee, Cossette and NATIONAL), at leading retailer Walmart Canada Corp., as well as within the advertising industry (Association of Quebec Advertising Agencies) and in government agencies (Canadian Space Agency).

A strategy-focused, result-oriented professional who is respected and acknowledged in Canada’s communications and media industry, Yanik is a team player and a unifying leader whose impeccable track record includes several complex and large-scale projects, such as:

  • He helped make Sid Lee the agency of the year in 2013.
  • Established “C2 Montréal” (an international conference on business and creativity).
  • At AAPQ, he rallied the creative industry in the province behind the Montreal.ad project and also led several successful trade missions abroad.
  • At Walmart Canada, he significantly improved the retailer’s reputation at the provincial and national levels by managing issues and establishing important programs (e.g. Achat Québec). He also led negotiations with the relevant authorities on the complex issues of reputation management with regard to CSR (e.g. sweatshops, unions, ethical sourcing, etc.)
  • At the Canadian Space Agency, he managed media relations for Canada’s most high profile missions.

Yanik is a professional duly accredited (APR) by the Canadian Public Relations Society and is Chairman of the Communications + Public Relations Foundation (CPRF).

Yanik Deschênes, , ARP, LL.B.

Yanik Deschênes

Yanik possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience en communications, en relations publiques, en marketing et en gestion d’enjeux.

Sa feuille de route fait état de réalisations importantes dans des agences bien connues (Sid Lee, Cossette et NATIONAL), chez le détaillant d’envergure Walmart Canada, ainsi qu’au sein de l’industrie de la publicité (Association des agences de publicité du Québec) et d’agences gouvernementales (Agence spatiale canadienne).

Yanik est un professionnel axé sur la stratégie et les résultats, respecté et reconnu dans l’industrie canadienne des communications et des médias. Privilégiant l’esprit d’équipe, c’est un dirigeant rassembleur dont les antécédents irréprochables comprennent plusieurs projets complexes et de grande envergure.

  • Il a contribué à faire de Sid Lee l’agence de l’année en 2013.
  • Il a contribué à mettre sur pied C2 Montréal (une conférence internationale sur les affaires et la créativité).
  • À l’AAPQ, il a mobilisé l’industrie créative du Québec pour réaliser le projet Montreal.ad et a dirigé avec succès plusieurs missions commerciales à l’étranger.
  • Chez Walmart Canada, il a considérablement amélioré la réputation du détaillant à l’échelle provinciale et nationale en gérant certains enjeux délicats et en mettant sur pied des programmes importants (p. ex. Achat Québec). Il a également dirigé les négociations avec les autorités compétentes sur des enjeux complexes de gestion de la réputation touchant la responsabilité sociale de l’entreprise (p. ex. ateliers de misère, syndicats, approvisionnement éthique, etc.).
  • À l’Agence spatiale canadienne, il a géré les relations avec les médias pour les missions canadiennes les plus médiatisées dont celles de Julie Payette, Marc Garneau et Chris Hadfield.

Yanik est un professionnel agréé par la Société canadienne des relations publiques (ARP) et il est président du conseil d’administration de la Fondation des communications et des relations publiques (FC+RP).